CFP: 13th Biennial International Conference on Music Since 1900

Auteur de l'annonce
Kelvin Lee
Date de l'évènement
Type d'évènement
Appel à communication/Call for papers

Présentation générale

Call for Papers, Compositions and Performances
Thirteenth Biennial International Conference on Music Since 1900
13–15 September 2024, KU Leuven, Leuven, Belgium

Keynote Speakers:
Professor J. Peter Burkholder (Indiana University Bloomington)
Professor Yayoi Uno Everett (Graduate Center and Hunter College, City University of New York)

The Department of Musicology at the University of Leuven (KU Leuven) invites proposals for the Thirteenth Biennial International Conference on Music Since 1900. The conference series focuses on music since 1900 in its broadest sense and intends to reflect the diversity of musics produced in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. We welcome proposals on any musical genres, drawing on any scholarly approach, and would particularly encourage submissions related to the following themes:
- Composers with anniversaries in 2024, such as Charles Ives, Arnold Schoenberg and Julia Perry
- Global perspectives on music since 1900

Other potential topics include but not limited to:
- Compositional research
- Concert-hall repertoire
- Experimental and avant-garde music
- Folk and popular traditions
- Music and technology
- Music on stage and screen
- Performance and reception studies

For the details about the formats and proposals, please visit

Please send your proposals to by 28 January 2024. Proposals should be sent as a single MS Word document. Please include your surname as the first word of the filename (e.g. LEE_paper/session title.docx). Proposals will be reviewed anonymously and we aim to communicate the outcome in March 2024.

The conference is planned as an in-person event, but we would intend to host a number of online-only sessions (with streaming of the others) for those who are unable to travel. Please enquire upon receiving the notice of acceptance.

The conference will feature a program of performances and activities.

Programme Committee:
Cassandre Balosso-Bardin (KU Leuven)
Pieter Bergé (KU Leuven) conference co-director
Jeroen D'hoe (KU Leuven)
Christopher Dingle (Royal Birmingham Conservatory)
Amanda Hsieh (Durham University)
Kelvin Lee (KU Leuven) conference co-director
Nicholas Reyland (Royal Northern College of Music)
Michiel Schuijer (Conservatorium van Amsterdam)
Marina Sudo (KU Leuven) conference administrator
Vera Wolkowicz (School of Advanced Studies in Social Sciences)